__Hinweis: Diese Seite verwendet Javascript für dynamische Darstellungen und interaktive Objekte wie Podcast.

Institute of Technology Management

Research Projects

Here is an overview of the research activities at the Institute of Technology Management.

Research activities at the four chairs:

Entrepreneurship
Innovation Management
Operations Management
Production Management 

Overview of all research projects at ITEM-HSG:

Auto-Id Labs ETH/HSG

The Auto-ID Labs are the leading global network of academic research laboratories in the field of networked RFID. The labs comprise seven of the world's most renowned research universities located on four different continents. These institutions were chosen by the Auto-ID Center to architect the Internet of Things together with EPCglobal.

Bits to Energy Lab

The Bits to Energy Lab (B2E) is a joint research initiative of the ETH Zurich and the University of St. Gallen. We combine information technology and behavioral sciences to stimulate energy conservation, efficiency, and sustainability. We develop, implement, and evaluate concepts of consumption feedback, customer engagement, and data analytics – with an emphasis on economically attractive deployment and the ambition to significantly contribute to international research.

Business Model Innovation

The competence center Business Model Innovation engages in research on the management of business model innovation, which is recognized as key component for organizational success. This includes the development of a construction methodology for the development of business model innovation as well as the analysis of its main drivers, like inter-group and inter-firm networks, patterns, software-induced innovation and anchoring within the organization

Center for Innovation

The Center for Innovation has the aim to establish Europe's leading research center on the management of innovation. Western Europe‘s innovativeness shall be fostered by means of a unique integrated approach to innovation, by including the disciplines technology & innovation management, marketing management, consumer behavior, and strategy. Thus, European firms' future competitiveness shall be strengthened globally.

Corporate Entrepreneurship

The Competence Center Corporate Entrepreneurship adapts findings from entrepreneurship research to established corporations by explicitely recognizing their entrepreneurial strategy.

Global Innovation

The internationalization of the value chain has today also reached the R&D function. The Competence Center Global Innovation engages in research on the management of global innovation and the organization of international R&D activities to advance management practice and state-of-the-art research.

Global Production

The Competence Centre for Global Production Management addresses the emerging challenges of companies acting in today's worldwide dispersed manufacturing environment. We develop novel and integrated management approaches to configure and coordinate global operations in line with the overall manufacturing strategy. Our solutions combine state-of-the-art research knowledge and deep insights into industry practices based on close collaborations with leading manufacturing companies.

HSG Business Incubator

The Business Incubator advances entrepreneurial thinking and acting which are major driving forces of the modern knowledge society. The competence center is dedicated to all HSG members which are about to exploit an innovative business idea for a market entry.

I-Lab

The competence center I-Lab concentrates on R&D projects for technology-driven innovation in the insurance industry with a special focus on the Internet of Things. The I-Lab is a joint initiative of the Departement for Management, Technology, and Economics (D-MTEC) at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, the Institute of Technology Management at University of St. Gallen (ITEM-HSG), and the Institute of Insurance Economics at University of St. Gallen (I.VW-HSG). Furthermore, the I-Lab is part of the M-Lab network and involved in research activities of the Auto-ID Labs.

Industrial Service Management

The research within the Industrial Service Management Competence Centre deals with challenges manufacturing companies have to face when entering the service business. New means of measurement have to be defined, new culture that is more customer and less technology oriented has to be installed and an own service strategy has to be worked out. This is especially important as latest research results show that many companies trying to servitize fail.

IP Management

The Competence Center Intellectual Property Management engages in research on the management of intellectual property rights, especially patents. That includes advanced management practices and state-of-the-art research with regard to portfolio management, evaluation, valuation, licensing and exploitation of patents and the potential of patents for an IPR market place.

Open Innovation

Innovation efforts are no longer limited within the boundaries of an organization. Multiple external partners play crucial roles in today’s challenging environment – the Competence Center Open Innovation conducts state-of-the-art research on the management of innovation in this open paradigm.

OPEX Pharma

One key aspect for pharmaceutical companies is the need to increase effectiveness and efficiency in operations across all functions significantly. The research at the Operational Excellence competence centre is supporting companies to tackle the industry’s challenges by putting existing strategies in operations into question and applying state-of-the-art research to create new strategies for operational effectiveness and efficiency.

R&D China

The Competence Center R&D China has the aim to to advance progress in science and management in the areas of international R&D management, global technology, and transnational innovation. The Competence Center R&D China cooperates with Tongji University, P.R. China in oder to establish a research network between those two institutions.

Energy Innovation Lab 

The Energy Innovation Lab aims to produce research that is both methodologically rigorous and relevant to academia and managerial practice. Its research on stakeholder management, organizational structures, and business model innovation is published in top-tier journals.

Smart Products

The Smart Products research group investigates new ways for interactions between various user types and products in all stages of a product lifecycle that might enable innovative business models. Hence, the vision of Smart Products raises research questions on the technical side, such as, which architectures are applicable, which kind of semantic representations and processing services are required, which services allow adaptation to consumer needs and which kind of telecommunication infrastructure will enable Smart Product communication in a secure and robust manner.

Technology Entrepreneurship

The research and consulting projects of the Competence Center Technology Entrepreneurship are focused on entrepreneurial thinking, decision making, and action in the context of high technology start-ups and corporates. Our projects are centered around the elements of the entrepreneurial process and include the recognition and evaluation of entrepreneurial opportunities and resource management practices.

TECTEM Transfer Center for Technology Management

By transferring scientific knowledge into real live solution, the benchmarking centre transfers adequate know-how efficiently into an organisation. The benchmarking centre identifies successful practice organisations and operationalises through the cooperation of practitioners and academics scientific solutions.

Ubiquitous Banking

In the instruction phase is our new Ubiquitous Banking Lab. Since october 2010, it investigates under the lead of Dr. Alexander Ilic, selected problems at the interface of new information technologies and banking. It focusses in this starting phase mainly on new disruptive methods of payment and follows the goal to develope and test innovative solutions in cooperation with our project partners.

Further information

ZIG Building

News

In 2014 research ranking of the most influential economists Prof. Dr. Oliver Gassmann is listed in the top 10, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.

Contact

University of St.Gallen
Institute of Technology Management
Dufourstrasse 40a
CH-9000 St.Gallen
E-Mail: 
Phone: +41 (0)71 224 73 00
Fax: +41 (0)71 224 73 01
http://www.item.unisg.ch

Accreditations
  • Logo AACSB
  • Logo EQUIS
Member of
  • Logo CEMS
  • Logo PIM
  • Logo APSIA
  • Logo gbsn
Share it

University of St.Gallen - School of Management, Economics, Law, Social Sciences and International Affairs (HSG)
Dufourstrasse 50, CH-9000 St.Gallen, Tel +41 (0)71 224 21 11, Fax +41 (0)71 224 28 16
© Copyright 2014 University of St.Gallen, Switzerland · General legal information · Data privacy statement

__Hinweis: Diese Seite verwendet Javascript für dynamische Darstellungen und interaktive Objekte wie Podcast.

Institut für Technologiemanagement

Forschungsprojekte

Hier ist ein Überblick über die Forschungsaktivitäten am Institut für Technologiemanagement.

Forschungsaktivitäten an unseren vier Lehrstühlen:

Entrepreneurship
Innovationsmanagement
Operationsmanagement
Produktionsmanagement

Überblick über unsere Forschungsprojekte ITEM-HSG:

Auto-Id Labs ETH/HSG

Der Auto-ID Lab, mit Sitz an der Universität St.Gallen und  ETH Zürich forscht auf dem Gebiet des Internets der Dinge, welches Objekte der physischen Welt mit digitalen Informationen im Internet verbindet.

Bits to Energy Lab

Die Bits to Energy Lab ist eine gemeinsame Forschungsinitiative der ETH Zürich und der Universität St. Gallen, Schweiz. Es untersucht und entwickelt Lösungen zur Förderung von Energieeinsparung, Energieeffizienz und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit.

Center for Innovation

Das Center for Innovation hat das Ziel, sich als führende Forschungsstelle für Innovationsmanagement in Europa zu etablieren. Das Center for Innovation möchte die Westeuropäische Innovationskraft fördern durch seinen integrierten Ansatz zu Innovation unter Einbeziehung der Disziplinen Technologie- & Innovationsmanagement, Marketingmanagement, Konsumentenverhalten und Strategie.

Corporate Entrepreneurship

Das Kompetenzzentrum Corporate Entrepreneurship begleitet die Übernahme aktueller Erkenntnisse der Entrepreneurshipforschung in etablierten Unternehmen im Rahmen derer unternehmerischer Strategie.

Geschäftsmodellinnovation

Das Kompetenzzentrum Geschäftsmodellinnovation befasst sich mit dem Management von Geschäftsmodellinnovationen – einer Disziplin, welche als entscheidend für langfristigen Unternehmenserfolg gilt. Forschungsthemen umfassen die Entwicklung einer Konstruktionsmethodik für die Entwicklung innovativer Geschäftsmodelle, die Untersuchung von Treibern wie Netzwerken, Geschäftsmodellmustern und softwareinduzierter Innovation, sowie die Verankerung von Geschäftsmodellinnovation im Unternehmen.

Global Innovation

Die Internationalisierung der Wertschöpfungskette hat auch die F&E Funktion erreicht. Das Kompetenzzentrum Global Innovation forscht auf dem Gebiet International Business mit speziellem Fokus auf dem internationalen F&E Management. Unser Ziel ist es, praxistaugliche Konzepte zu entwickeln und hochwertige Forschung auf internationalem Niveau zu betreiben.

Global Production

Das Kompetenzzentrum 'Globales Produktionsmanagement' beschäftigt sich mit neuen Herausforderungen von Firmen, die im heutigen weltweiten Produktionsumfeld eine Rolle spielen. Wir entwickeln neuartige und integrierte Management-Ansätze, um globale Funktionsweisen in Übereinstimmung mit der allgemeinen Produktions-Strategie zu konfigurieren und koordinieren. Unsere Lösungen entstehen aus einer Kombination von hoch aktuellem Forschungswissen sowie tiefen Einblicken in die Industriepraxis, welche auf enger Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Produktionsfirmen basieren.

HSG Business Incubator

Der Business Incubator fördert unternehmerisches Denken und Handeln, die treibende Kräfte unserer modernen Wissensgesellschaft sind. Das Kompetenzzentrum bietet allen Angehörigen der Universität St.Gallen Unterstützung, die ihre innovative Geschäftsidee zum Markteintritt weiterentwickeln wollen.

I-Lab

Das I-Lab ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der Universität St.Gallen und der ETH Zürich. Wir erforschen und gestalten technologiebasierte Innovationen im Versicherungsbereich.In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus der Versicherungsindustrie entwickeln wir neue Geschäftsideen und Geschäftsmodelle. Mit Hilfe von Demonstratoren und Prototypen überprüfen deren Akzeptanz bei den Kunden.

Industrielle Dienstleistungen

Die Forschung des Kompetenzzentrums 'Industrielle Dienstleistungen' beschäftigt sich mit den Herausforderungen, die Produktionsunternehmen beim Einstieg in das Dienstleistungsgeschäft begegnen. Neue Einschätzungs-Massnahmen sind zu definieren. Es muss eine neue Kultur eingeführt werden, die sich mehr auf die Kunden und weniger auf die Technologie fokussiert. Dies ist insbesondere wichtig, da gemäss neusten Forschungsergebnissen viele Firmen scheitern, die den Einstieg in das Dienstleistungsgeschäft wagen.

IP Management

Das Kompetenzzentrum für Intellectual Property Management beschäftigt sich mit Forschung in dem Bereich Management von geistigen Eigentumsrechten, insbesondere Patenten. Dies umfasst unter anderem erweiterte Management Praktiken und „state-of-the-art“ Forschung bezüglich Portfolio Management, Analyse, Bewertung, Lizensierung, Verwertung von Patenten, wie auch Potenzialanalysen von Patenten für einen möglichen IPR Markt.

Open Innovation

Innovation entsteht immer seltener ausschliesslich innerhalb der Grenzen eines einzelnen Unternehmens. Im heutigen herausfordernden Umfeld spielen externe Partner eine entscheidende Rolle - das Kompetenzzentrum für Open Innovation nimmt bei der Erforschung diese offenen Innovationsparadigmas eine führende Stellung ein!

OPEX Pharma

Ein Hauptaspekt für pharmazeutische Unternehmen ist das Bedürfnis, ihre Leistungsfähigkeit und Effektivität über alle Funktionen hinweg deutlich zu steigern. Die Forschung am Kompetenzzentrum 'Operational Excellence' unterstützt Firmen, diese Herausforderung in ihrer Industrie anzugehen. Dabei werden existierende Strategien in Frage gestellt und dank hoch aktueller Forschung neue Strategien für die betriebliche Leistungsfähigkeit und Effektivität entwickelt.

R&D China

Das Kompetenzzentrum R&D China möchten den Fortschritt in Wissenschaft und Praxis auf den Gebieten internationales Forschungs- und Entwicklungsmanagement, globale Technologien und transnationale Innovationen treiben. Das Kompetenzzentrum R&D China kooperiert mit der Tongji University in China mit dem Ziel ein Forschungsnetzwerk zwischen den beiden Institutionen aufzubauen.

Energy Innovation Lab 

Das Energy Innovation Lab betreibt methodologisch rigorose Forschung, die sowohl von akademischem Interesse als auch von praktischer Relevanz ist. Seine Forschung zu Stakeholder Management, Organisationsstrukturen und Geschäftsmodellinnovationen wird in hochrangigen Journals publiziert.

Smart Products

Die Forschungsgruppe Smart Products widmet sich Fragestellungen rund um die Gestaltung digital aufgeladener physischer Produkte und untersucht neue Wege für Interaktionen zwischen verschiedenen Nutzertypen und Produkten in allen Phasen eines Produktlebenszyklus.

Technology Entrepreneurship

Die Forschungs- und Beratungsprojekte des Kompetenzzentrums Technology Entrepreneurship konzentrieren sich auf das unternehmerische Denken, Entscheiden und Handeln in technologieorientierten Unternehmen. Unsere Projekte befassen sich dabei insbesondere mit dem Erkennen und Bewerten technologiegetriebener unternehmerischer Gelegenheiten und dem unternehmerischen Ressourcenmanagement.

TECTEM Transfer Center for Technology Management

Durch die Umwandlung von wissenschaftlicher Sachkenntnis in reale Lösungen transferiert das Benchmarking Center entsprechendes Wissen kompetent in eine Organisation. Das Benchmarking Center identifiziert erfolgreich praktizierende Unternehmen und wirkt durch die Kooperation von Praxis- und akademisch-wissenschaftlichen Lösungen als Bindeglied.

Ubiquitous Banking

Das Ubiquitous Banking Lab befindet sich zur Zeit noch im Aufbau. Es untersucht ausgewählte Fragestellungen an der Schnittstelle von neuen Informationstechnologien und Banking. Es fokussiert sich in der Anfangsphase vor allem auf neue disruptive Formen des Zahlungsverkehrs und verfolgt das Ziel, gemeinsam mit Partnerunternehmen, innovative Lösungen zu entwickeln und zu testen.

Weitere Informationen

lZIG Gebäude

Aktuell

Im FAZ Ranking hat Prof. Dr. Oliver Gassmann es in die Top 10 der einflussreichsten Ökonomen in der Forschung geschafft. Ranking FAZ

Kontakt

Universität St.Gallen
Institut für Technologiemanagement
Dufourstrasse 40a
CH-9000 St.Gallen
E-Mail: 
Tel.: +41 (0)71 224 73 00
Fax: +41 (0)71 224 73 01
http://www.item.unisg.ch

Akkreditierungen
  • Logo AACSB
  • Logo EQUIS
Mitglied von
  • Logo CEMS
  • Logo PIM
  • Logo APSIA
  • Logo gbsn
Share it

Universität St.Gallen - Hochschule für Wirtschafts-, Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Internationale Beziehungen (HSG)
Dufourstrasse 50, CH-9000 St.Gallen, Tel +41 (0)71 224 21 11, Fax +41 (0)71 224 28 16
© Copyright 2014 Universität St.Gallen, Schweiz · Allgemeine rechtliche Informationen · Datenschutz